Black Fern tops sports awards

Silver Fern Farms David Hutchinson, sportsman of the year Matthew Moulds and sportswoman of the year and supreme award winner Aleisha Pearl Nelson at the 20th annual Silver Fern Farms Kaipara District Sports Awards

Women’s rugby star Aleisha Pearl Nelson has taken out the Supreme Award, as well as Sportswoman of the Year title at the 20th annual Silver Fern Farms Kaipara District Sports Awards.

Hailing from Kaihu, Aleisha is a Black Fern and part of the team that won the Women’s Rugby World Cup this year. She is also a member of Auckland Storm women’s team.

The Sportsman of the Year Award went to rugby player Matthew Moulds who grew up in Ararua and has played five seasons for the Northland Taniwha team and captained three. He’s contracted with ‘The Blues’ for the 2018 season.

The sellout awards ceremony hosting Kaipara’s sporting elite was held by Sport Northland last Friday at the Maungaturoto Country Club.

“Our sports people are magnificent, and up with those on the world stage.

It just shows that you can achieve big things even if you’re from small town New Zealand,” said Sport Northland chair, Chris Biddles.

The ASB Junior Sportsperson of the Year was Simon Parker, from the Otamatea area. He is a member of the New Zealand secondary schools’ Barbarian team, The Blues development team and the Northland under-18 team. He was also this year’s Kaihu under-17 player of the year and top try scorer.

The Dargaville Veterinary team of the year went to the Maungaturoto Men’s triples bowls team, David Eades, Kevin Robinson and Wayne Wrack, who won this year’s New Zealand National men’s triples. They also won the Northland men’s open centre triples, five other major Northland tournaments, and received the Bowls Northland team of the year award.

The Noel Radd Motors Kaipara junior team of the year went to the Rodney College golf team. Tarrin Rous, Jack Oldfield and Aaron Allott won the Northland secondary schools’ golf tournament, qualifying for the national tournament in Hastings.

Other awards included footballer Matt Rowe winning the Thermatech leadership award, and rugby league coach Daniel Fulop and rugby coach Snow Tane both winning the Thermatech Coach of the Year.

Swimming official Carlrine Gillespie won the Steinlager Pure Official of the Year and bowler Wayne Wrack was the Pacific Motor Group Master Sportsperson of the Year.

Robyn Bruce, Graeme Powdrell, Christine Taylor and Gywn Powell all received the Barry Markwick Memorial Service to Sport Award.

Winners of the Kaipara District Council contribution to club sport were Helena Williamson for rugby and Maree Chapman for netball.

The Sport New Zealand Community Impact Award went to the Mangawhai Football Club.

The event was hosted by John Markby from More fm and featured 12-year-old Otamatea singer Kate Cotching.

Reported By:-
For more stories from the Northland region - Click Here

Leave a Comment