Sailing regatta enjoys record numbers

Although conditions were light, a record number of boats filled the Mahurangi Harbour last month.

A record 101 boats cruised into the Mahurangi Harbour to compete in the annual Mahurangi Regatta on January 27.

Spectators also flocked to watch the wooden boats race with an estimated 800 craft on the water.

An organiser, Cimino Cole, says as clichéd as it sounds, the regatta proved to be the best yet.

“We say it gets better every year and this time was no exception with a huge turnout,” Cimino says.

He thinks the growth in participation is due to both the introduction of two new classes this year and growth across the Mahurangi region.

“With more people coming into the area we are bound to see this regatta get bigger and having the Reactor class this time definitely drew a lot more boats to the event.”

One drawback this year was the lack of wind, which meant the race was reduced to one lap around Saddle Island.

“Conditions were light, but despite this the finish was very close. There were a lot of boats fighting to get over the line first, which was exciting.”

This year, the regatta also had the addition of a boat transporting people from Mahurangi West to Scotts Landing, provided by Jim Dollimore, owner of Biomarine.

“This is a great service to provide at the event and even though Jim can’t guarantee his boat for next year, we would like to make sure we have something in place to help people cross the harbour in future.”

Prize winners were as follows: A Class Trophy, Moana; Frostbite, Smart Mover; Minerva Cup, Corona; Mahurangi Cup, Gypsy; Dawdle of Te Kapa Trophy, Windhaven II; Handicapper’s Trophy, Colonist; Herreshoff Trophy, Te Kawhai; Lady Pat Trophy, Katherine Anne; Logan Trophy, Moana; Octavius Cup, Gypsy; Old Gaffers Bell, Ngatira; Will Watch Trophy, Prize; Mistrals, Mystique; Winch Trophy, Precedent; Teak Construction Trophy, Arethusa; Mullet Boat L-class, Rangi Manu; Reactor 25, Reliant; Stewart 34, Precedent; Traditional Spirit Trophy, IOD Princess; Master of the Mahurangi Cup, Roger Williams; Eric Salmon Trophy, Rory King, Bruce Cowan, Ashley King; John Cole Trophy, Bill Burrill.

Reported By:-
For more stories from the Auckland region - Click Here

Leave a Comment